We just rolled in to Salzburg after three days in the Austrian Alps, and it’s official – we have fallen in love with the Alps.  I don’t think either Pat or I realized how much we had missed hiking in the mountains.  While living in Oregon, we would try to go backpacking in the Cascades at least two times a year and would hike in the woods around Corvallis at least once a week – more during the summer.  While we have done a lot of walking on pavement since living in Cork, because of the wet weather, limited access to trails, and inability to drive (the subject of a future posting) our hiking opportunites have been few and far between.

I think it is safe to say that we did our best to make up for that while in St. Wolfgang.  We managed to hike just over 30 miles in a span of two days.  That is definitely a distance record for us both, and not too shabby for two people in their late 30’s if I do say so myself.  We have some achy muscles and sore feet to show for it, but it was worth it.  I also have to put a plug in for Ecco shoes.  My trusty Keens had worn out with all the walking I had been doing in Cork, so I bought a pair of Ecco shoes before our trip.  After walking 30 miles around the lake and through the mountains, I wound up with one hot spot on a toe and one blister.  Poor Pat had blisters on top of blisters and a total count of 11 blisters.  Although, in fairness, he already had four blisters from walking around Bratislava and Vienna.

Pat and I both agreed that the Alps have been the highlight of our trip so far, and we wish that we could have stayed longer and explored a bit more.  Hopefully there will be a next time. 

p.s. Because our computer keeled over and died right before our trip, it will be a while before we manage to get pictures uploaded onto Flickr.  But if you want to feel jealous you can see some lovely photos of St. Wolfgang and Wolfgangsee (the lake) if you check out google images.

